Experience !!

(M)excitement

From inside on of the hobbit holes, on locatio...

I get excited by movies. Not only the actual releases, but the trailers too. Yeah, I have to agree that mostly, they are English movies (for their epicness), French (for their simplicity and strong stories) and Chinese (of course, for the martial displays!). I did not get to watch too many Korean movies though some of them were thought provoking (Oldboy). Oh yeah! And there was this Israeli animated documentary film (Waltz with Bashir) that I got to watch (the closest I got to Middle Eastern film making – you got to really appreciate the creativity that they have got!)

So what did I do? I have this habit of reading reviews before I watch a movie and thanks to Google, I stumbled upon the most beautiful website that I had ever seen – IMDB!!!!!! Thank the gods for making humans design such a website! Ok so, and then I started watching movies sorted by directors, actors, actresses, cinematographers, art directors. That is one good thing with the site. You can drill down through anybody or anything to something else. So, basically there is no dearth of good movies to watch! Following the above said method, I was able to cover many of the major movies and of course not to forget the custom made lists by people! People, you rock! I swear! You do!

Although I prefer to watch movies only with good ratings, sometimes we can take the risk of watching ones with really bad user reviews and ratings. You never know! You might actually come across a gem in the mud! And there are some movies which might not be listed on IMDB, of which there is a very little probability, but still there is. In such cases, we have to move to other sources.

How many of you would run to a theatre way before the show, just to watch new trailers? I know you would have watched them on YOUTUBE already, but still watching a trailer in a theatre is a totally different experience. Ohhh…and how I would curse the theatre guy if there aren’t any trailers! Teasers, Sneak Peeks, Production Diaries, Exclusive Interviews, Oh wow! Give me more! I am not satisfied yet!

Sidney Lumet, Stanley Kubrick, Steven Spielberg, Francis Ford Coppola, Orson Welles, Martin Scorsese, Alfred Hitchcock, Woody Allen, Clint Eastwood, Akira Kurosawa, Peter Jackson, Christopher Nolan, George Lucas, Ridley Scott and many more legends (both dead and living) defined cinema and the way it was made

One director who took the fantasy genre to the next level is the GREAT Peter Jackson. The LOTR trilogy changed my life and perspective at viewing things. I still have to visit New Zealand though. And then we are reeling back to a prequel – THE HOBBIT – An Unexpected Journey which totally blew the audience away with its amazing visuals and the director’s consistency at story telling.

Hence, since a few weeks, something that has kept me nail biting and waiting and crying in joy is the release of THE HOBBIT – The Desolation of Smaug. I have been constantly following its making and promotional activity and there is no doubt about its success. Do you know Stephen Fry is in the movie? And by the way, if you already didn’t know, our Benedict Cumberbatch voices SMAUG and the NECROMANCER.

I mention only this movie as of now, because that is the only big release and most awaited picture towards the end of 2013. Yeah, remember? We are done with 2013.

May you all enjoy the holidays and especially THE HOBBIT!

Till then my preciousssss!!! Wish you a merry Christmas and a very happy new year!!

 

P.S. Pete has hired me on a freelance basis to promote THE DESOLATION OF SMAUG!

Standard

Leave a Reply

